giving blood


It’s always more fun giving blood when you make it a complete social event.

Friend Mary and I went for lunch first, then to give our blood. We raced to fill our blood bags; Mary took 6 minutes and I took 7. People there are really nice, and so is that basket of donut holes and cookies they make you eat after, along with the sugary juice. Then I shopped for some yarn for my next knitting project. And finally, stopped in to see my son at work in Water Street in Vancouver. Even walking around town in the rain was fun with my bright pink umbrella.

Mostly, I’m happy that maybe my pleasant afternoon will help save a life, just as my son’s was saved when he was a baby and needed a full-body blood exchange/replacement!

20092009200920092009

type your comment here -- please be friendly!