artist’s block! please help!


“The artist is nothing without the gift, but the gift is nothing without work.” ~ Emile Zola

That’s what I was afraid of, LOL.

I’m having a creative/artistic dry spell. What’s the equivalent of a writer’s block for artists? I usually solve this problem by taking a class — the weekly homework obligations get me going again. But I can’t find a class that grabs me right now. Nothing in art, nothing in crafts, nothing in photography, nothing in writing. This is a serious block. Need to figure out how to crack it. How, without a single cell of creative urge running through my veins?

One problem I have is that I like to finish things before I start new things. I’ve had this one canvas sitting unfinished for nearly a year now. I suppose it initiated the block. I have no idea what to do with it.

2011-04-27_001

or maybe it’s….

2011-04-27_002

or maybe it’s actually how I originally painted it…

2011-04-27_003

Kind of like a blank canvas but not quite. The original idea when I began it no longer interests me. What do you think? What does this unfinished masterpiece (LOL 😉 make you think of? What should I do with it? Should I just gesso it over and start from scratch? Or what? 

Inspire me, please inspire me!

Also, I’d sure welcome any ideas for how to get out of this artist’s block!

3 thoughts on “artist’s block! please help!

  1. First photo: Headlights in a snow storm on a dark roadSecond photo: Illuminated wall on a dark nightThird photo: Illuminated wall at door to a dark room

    Like

  2. Well thanks, but which way up?I’m going to add to it sometime this summer. I’ve got some ideas brewing. So the block is dissolving. But slowly.

    Like

type your comment here -- please be friendly!

