Kiss The Joy As It Flies


Sheree Fitch: Kiss The Joy As It Flies
I just finished reading Kiss The Joy As It Flies and enjoyed it enormously. It’s as joyful as it is serious; it unfolds stories, secrets, relationships, personalities, and a kind of coming of age too.

Mercy Beth, a 48-year old woman, has all the best and worst characteristics I find in myself, so I really related to her. No hold backs; Mercy Beth can be a bitch as easily as she can be creative and funny. But she’s more or less coping, learning to open up and to love and to work through her list-of-10-things-I-gotta-do before I….

I appreciated the overriding notion and mood of this treasure-book, as captured in the book’s title and which comes from this thought by William Blake:

He who binds himself to a joy
Does the winged life destroy
He who kisses the joy as it flies
Lives in eternity’s sunrise.

Fine words, and especially pertinent and timely for me as I start working on my second attempt at retirement. (OK, ya, I know it’s probably not going to last long this time either.)

Sheree Fitch is a Canadian author; Mercy Beth is a New Brunswick gal. They both make us laugh, cry, and kiss the joy in wonderment. Go ahead, get deeply involved with the richly drawn characters. I did.

type your comment here -- please be friendly!

